Getting lost in Barcelona

IMG_1793I believe getting lost is the best way to get to know a city. Years ago, when I was a student in Amsterdam, I wandered around for hours (with the map of Amsterdam in my bag, as Google Maps didn’t exist back then, let alone smartphones). I now know Amsterdam like the back of my hand, thanks to many hours of getting lost. Not that I got lost on purpose; I just didn’t want to take the tram all the time. Or (which happened more often): I got on the wrong tram and then thought it’d be easier to walk.

Go wandering

Now here in Barcelona I find myself bored with the standard touristic places and I don’t want to get stuck in the metro all the time, so now I go wandering again. And to what beautiful places my feet bring me!

View from the Montjuïc

A bit west from the Font Màgica de Montjuïc you’ll find this wonderful view on the Museu d’Arqueologia de Catalunya (photo). And there are more. For instance, the building where the Guardia Urbana is at (corner Carrer de la Guàrdia Urbana and Avinguda de Rius i Taulet) is stunning.

Hidden gems

I’m not the only one who thinks Barcelona has little hidden gems. There is even an app to find them: BCN Paisatge. Because some of us don’t like wandering without purpose.

How to get lost

Me, I don’t mind. Even though getting lost has its occupational hazards: you get blisters. When my feet are healed I’m going to follow a friend’s advice on how to get lost: Turn left when leaving the house, turn right at the next tree. Go right at the 2nd street corner and when you see an animal, walk in the same direction as the wind until you see a yellow car. Turn right at the 3rd street. 

One thought on “Getting lost in Barcelona

  1. Pingback: Wandering over the Montjuïc | Barcelona from a Dutch angle

Comments are closed.